Updates: Review Previews!

Happy December, everyone!

I’m taking another socials break, which is going to mean a spike in blog posts, especially in book review posts. Here are some of the up-and-coming books you can expect to see making appearances on here:

  1. The Joy Luck Club. Generations of Chinese and Chinese American women, young and old, mothers and daughters, the culture differences, the worldview differences, and why and how they affect those relationships. I love learning about other cultures, whether from a nonfiction, historical fiction, or literary fiction standpoint, so I’m definitely eager for this one!
  2. Star Daughter. The daughter of a literal star and a human gets called up by fellow celestials because she wants to heal her father… but is made to take part in brutal competitions to help decide the next ruling house of the heavens. You had me at “star.”
  3. Thrawn: Ascendancy. (audiobook) Our favorite INTJ blue boy from Star Wars is back in this newer prequel; we get to learn more about his surprising backstory, where he comes from, and more on why he wished to infiltrate the Empire. I actually prefer Marc Thompson’s Thrawn to Lars Mikkelsen’s, because his Thrawn voice is that much more perfect: soft, mysterious, serious, somewhat chilling yet somehow soothing all at once. Any audiobook that has that kind of narrator for Thrawn is worth listening to, in my opinion, and it won’t be nearly the same when they choose another, very different actor for the eventual live-action Grand Admiral Thrawn.
  4. Fireborne. Dragons? Dragonriding? Dragonriding competitions? Revolutionaries and revolutions? COUNT. ME. IN. I’ve been told this is a great book for Harry Potter fans, and going through draggo-shifter withdrawal thanks to Janeen Ippolito, haha.
  5. Legacy of Mercy. It’s no surprise to friends and family alike that I’m a massive fan of author Lynn Austin; I’ve engulfed almost everything she’s ever written/published, although I don’t always agree with her politically. Arguably one of the best Christian Historical Fiction writers. I’ll be rereading the first book in this duology, Waves of Mercy, and will try to review both in one shot.

Additionally, I just reviewed Sky Without Stars– click here to check it out!

Those are what I’m planning on reading and reviewing in December, but I may surprise you with extra posts that aren’t reviews… You never know…

2 thoughts on “Updates: Review Previews!

  1. Hi! I’m Mary. I just wanted to let you know that I stumbled upon this blog by accident and it hooked me instantly. I’m also a hardcore pro-lifer and Christian, so I got super excited when I read your bio blurb. Unfortunately, pro-life Christian bloggers are kinda hard to find these days! But I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts, as well as reading some of you book reviews; I’m a massive bookworm and I’m SO STOKED that I found a Christian reader releasing content.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awwww!!! Thank you!! I don’t get much traffic on here, sadly, likely because of that reason (Bookstagram tends to be really progressive nowadays, as I’m sure you’ve seen). I want my blog to be more of a safe haven for conservative readers who also love fantasy, sci-fi, thrillers, historical fiction, etc, too, because that rarely happens online. We are small but mighty, haha! 🙂 I do occasionally write deeper posts, though, too. Nice to meet you!!

      Like

Leave a comment