So Grown Up

As I walk

Down the street,

Keys jangling and

Heels going,

Clip-clop

Clip-Clop;

I feel like

I am part carriage

Carrying myself

To important destinations

But also

Like a grown-up

Woman

With very real

Responsibilities.

 

I pilfer a glance in

A mirror,

A beautiful, professional

Looking

Seeming

Stranger stares back.

Is it me?

Is that grown-up

At ease

And elegant young woman

Really and almost cruelly

The awkward and

Childish

Yours Truly?

_______________

Image Credit:

http://blogs.discovermagazine.com/neuroskeptic/2015/08/27/woman-stranger-in-the-mirror/

Leave a Reply

