So we’re officially less than a week away from the Pokemon Company’s 20th Anniversary game release: “Pokemon Sun and Pokemon Moon.” This post is gonna be mostly speculation, fangirling, and reviewing the game in what we’ve seen so far. If you disagree with any of my points at any time, or think something else, that’s fine; comment and we can chat. I love discussing these things with fellow fans (when I really should be cracking on homework. LOL).

That being said, many of the trailers look awesome, although I’m not quite understanding the marketing concept/appeal concept behind things like Z-Moves. Mega Evolution (yes, I am a young Earth Creationist still; I always bear in mind that Pokemon is FICTION, as is macroevolution.) had at least a purpose, a point. Are Z-Moves like Signature Moves, that only certain Pokes can use? Or something completely different? Are we ever going to see the return of the Megas, or any new Megas? Overall, Z-Moves haven’t got me completely sold out; it seems like they’re just scrambling to try to connect something in the game to Zygarde, since they failed to release a “Pokemon Z” (the reason a “Pokemon Z” was in high anticipation, BTW, is that Pokemon X and Y were the first main series games to come out for 3DS. And if you know anything about 3-D, you’ll know there are 3 rays: X, Y and Z. Go figure they’d use it as a theme.). They need a hefty explanation to pair with these moves if they wanna impress me, is all I’m saying.

Now, onto the Trials. I’m not quite sure how they’re run, or what you get for completing them; all that I’m aware of is that they’re the replacement for Pokemon Gyms, which, to a staunch traditionalist like me, is basically the Pokemon equivalent of BLASPHEMY. (Not kidding here.) Gyms have literally been around since before I was even BORN, when Red and Blue first hit the Gameboys. How do you collect badges to ensure that your Pokemon will obey you up to a certain stage, or are they watering it down for newbie kid gamers? Do they really think that running around collecting items instead of battling will make your pokes stronger? Are the Kahunas supposedly the “Leaders” or are the “Totem Pokemon”? Can you catch a “Totem Pokemon”? It’s all rather confusing and I’d really love clarification.

Speaking of clarification and longing for something, Imma start switching back and forth between the good and the bad a bit. One big thing that’s slightly confusing but is something I’m very much looking forward to interpreting is the story line, particularly the story behind Team Skull, the Ether Foundation (who CLAIMS to protect and provide shelter from Pokemon who’ve had it rough from T.S.), and Lillie. Here’s the BIGGEST theory I’ve wrestled with: I think Ether’s in cahoots with Skull, for several reasons: Skull appears to have no real motives (other than being dangerous, trouble-making hooligans); most companies in the Pokemon World (i.e., the media of X and Y, the Devon Corp. in RSE ORAS, and the infamous Silph Co. in RBYFRLG) are all either endangered by a villainous team, or are somehow associated with them (in Silph’s case it was both– several Silph workers converted to Team Rocket and betrayed their coworkers.); Lillie wears pure white, as do all Ether employees, and is shown in a trailer next to a Cosmog (known pre-evo of legendary Lunala) and the player; Lillie’s hair and eyes, however, are strikingly similar to those of a particular Team Skull member: Gladion (which makes me think he’s either her brother or cousin. Pokemon peeps do that allll the time; if someone looks vaguely like another, they are typically related.). Which makes me all the more suspicious.

So here’s what I think about Ether, Lillie and Skull: I don’t know their motives or goals as of yet, but since Ether is personally investigating Cosmog/Solgaleo’s pre-evo, I’d stake my life on the fact that THAT’S the Poke Lillie is desperately trying to conceal in her bag, and that they’re after the legendary Pokemon (most likely for classic “world domination” reasons, but you can’t rule out blowing up the world, expanding sea/land, brainwashing everyone into releasing their Pokes, etc. You never know…). But why? Is she a Skull defector? Ether defector? Is she working undercover for Ether under hot Prof. Kuikui’s tutelage because she wants to learn more about the legendaries for them? (The site itself said she was working for him due to “personal reasons,” as well as stating she would have a key role in the story.) I didn’t watch any YouTube spoilers, thankfully, but I did see a pic of Ether’s President, Lusamine, surrounded by a jellyfish-like Legendary in a dramatic pose, mostly likely pulling a “Zinnia” or an “N”, depending on the situation– but probably calling on it to aid her, which could go either direction (good or bad side.). I don’t know about you guys, but to me, I’m getting quite the “Zinnia” or “N” vibe here, from Lillie, as well… I feel like she’ll either appeal directly to the legendary on the side of the player to fix a prob, like Zinnia, or be naive and misguided by Skull/Ether, manipulated into doing something with the legendary for them, like N with T.P.

All in all, I really, really am praying that this is all a good sign from heaven that we will finally get ourselves a decent story since Black and White. (Although, I’ve been wrong about Colress from B2W2; I recall thinking he was gonna take Juniper’s place in handing out starters, then do this huge reveal about his being a part of TP. Nope, just got right to this latter.)

Next, the Alolan forms. Basically, long story short, Kanto Pokes came to Alola, and adapted to their new environment, thus changing their appearances dramatically. (What I DON’T see, interestingly, is them changing Raichu’s form but NOT Pikachu’s… go figure. 😛 ) Some of them are OK (Exeggutor), some are awesome (Ninetails, Marowak), some I just wish they’d left the heck ALONE (Raichu, Persian and Sandshrew. It’s called SANDshrew for a REASON, people!!!). Here’s the problem with suddenly altering all the classics: this babies have literally been around for decades. Literally. Two. Freaking. Decades. These are the classics that have first appeared in Pokemon Red and Blue, that started this whole snowball rolling. If you dramatically alter Pokes that people have grown up with and known since kindergarten or even earlier, guess what? Abnormally bad reactions, that’s what! That’s like telling Lecrae the awesome Christian black rapper to suddenly make the switch to classical music only; it’s too unreal and too unbelievable. These Pokes have their set types, let them BE. (Regardless of what I think of the now-more-gorgeous Ninetails, you CANNOT make my Vulpix into a Shirley Temple model. I love Vulpix, and I love Temple, but when you combine the two and slap on an Ice-Fairy typing, it is pure HERESY.)

The Return of Pokemon Amie. OK, I’ll admit. I’ve long been a sucker for the idea of “Pokemon meets Nintendogs”. So when X and Y came out, I naturally HAD to be able to pet and feed my Pokes. ❤ This is taking it a step even further, only they call it, “Pokemon Refresh” now: You can not only pet, play with, and feed your Pokes, you can brush them, groom them, wash them, heal them up close. Wonderful, wonderful stuff. I just cross my fingers that they will NOT take “Cosplay Pikachu” any further, though….

The new Pokes. They honestly probably could’ve done better in this department; this is one of the rare instances that Imma say I really, really wish that GameFreak took the designs for new Pokes that fans often send them more seriously (yes, it’s that bad in some ways.). I’m already seeing a Burmy/Shellos thing going on with Oriocorio and all its different forms, as well as Minior. Tsareena and Crabrawler are both clearly spin-offs of Lilligant and Corphish, respectively. Don’t get me wrong, there are a few I’m excited to have on-team: Mid-Day Lycanroc (FINALLY, a REAL wolfish Poke!!!), Komala, Drampa, Stufful, maybe Mudsdale, Morelull (hate its evo though), Passimian, and perhaps Lunala (because it reminds me of the Darkling, but that’s another story.), but other than that, I’m #TeamRowlet, and that’s basically it. (Can you tell I’m a sucker for cute Pokes?) So far, this Gen isn’t doing too much for me, Poke-wise, although I’ve noticed that there’s been an increase in Fairy-types (yay!), but also a few creepy Pokes added (Salandit, Mimikyu, Sandygast, Palossand…. Boooooo…. literally….)… Also, is it just me, or are there more legendaries this Gen?

THE RETURN OF TRAINER CUSTOMIZATION!!! Words cannot simply describe my excitement, although I cannot name my character after me (since there will be an important NPC with my name, I will be naming her the female name of what my twin would’ve been called, if they’d been born a she.), I can still tailor her appearance to my whim. I can’t wait; it looks promising. Hopefully they’ll have even more ops than X and Y.

Unfortunately, there is no Pokemon League. Say WHAT?? Well, yeah, what’d you expect from a few lil islands that obsess over dumb Trials instead Gyms (Leagues require Gym badges to partake. Standard rule, you need all eight.)? Granted, you are still able to witness, I’m told, the START of a new League (great– we have to wait another year), but in the meantime they have something called the Battle Tree (which, I’m assuming, is a poor consolation for there being no League.). The very title takes me back to White 2, where they have the White Treehollow, a battle arena that takes you deeper and deeper into the arena until you finish battling everyone (same with Black Tower in Black 2, only it’s the highest point.). I feel like this is a spin-off of that. One major consolation, though, is at the end, you get to battle…. *dramatic drum roll, please….* LEGENDARY TRAINERS BLUE AND RED!!!! AND THEY’RE OLDER!!!!  (Red is no longer his tweenage-self, but his cute, silent but deadly, 20-something self. So mature and handsome and gaaaaahhhhh…. ❤ *fangirls*)

One last thing to note is that, depending on the game you get, as well as obvious version-exclusives (which every main series game has had– I’m getting the ones I want from the other game from my brother, as I’m too poor to afford both games, LOL.) events may turn out differently for you, as well as it being standard time in Sun but 12 hours ahead/behind (nighttime, in short) in Moon, during your daylight hours. Pretty cool, huh? (Naturally, since I’ve never played during the nighttime, and have never really gotten the “female” version games, I’ll be getting Moon, but I do like more version exclusives in Sun…)

I will be getting my copy of Moon ASAP this upcoming Friday, and will be vlogging about my experiences with my good friend (and YouTube book vlogger) Macy (aka, itsabookthing) and possibly with my kid brother. I will be posting this experiences on my Facebook, since I do not have (nor do I really want) a YouTube account. If you are interested in seeing these, mention something in the comments.

Anything you guys noticed/are anticipating with the new games? If so, sound off! 🙂

____________________

Image Credit: http://www.cathrecords.com/

 

Leave a Reply

