Now I lay me down to sleep

While out of my eyes seep

Tears of pain for

Family, friends

Who behave as though

This is my end.

‘Tis true, my monitor barely beeps…

 

But really–

Do they not know?

How can they not understand?

This is but a foreign land.

 

Truthfully, intermingl’d  with

The tears of sadness and pain

Are tears of joy, elation

At my gain.

For when I sleep, I will arise

Up through the clouds,

Floating through the skies

And when I awake

When I open my eyes to see

A wond’rous, heavenly Face

Shall greet me!

 

Image credit: https://www.pinterest.com/explore/akiane-kramarik/

Leave a Reply

