I’ve always loved roses, ever since I was a kid. Maybe it’s because they’re so elegant, so exquisite. Maybe it’s because “Rose” is my middle name. Or maybe it’s because they belie a secret strength.

I’ve never actually possessed a real, live rose before in my entire life, so after I recently inducted into the Sigma Tau Delta (the International English Honors Society), I was honored to receive a rose. It was so beautifully stunning in every way.

The problem was, as I soon realized upon the return to my dorm, I had no idea where I was going to put my little beauty. No vase, nothing for a beautiful, long-stemmed, thornless crimson rose. Disappointed, I propped it up inside the cardboard tube of my paper towel roll, just so I’d have SOME place to display it. By morning, it started to droop considerably. Now, I’m no flower expert (that award would go to my mother, who runs our Church’s Perennial Sale), but I knew all flowers needed at least water and natural light. So I did the desperado thing.

I took a water bottle out from my mini fridge, uncapped it, and basically used it as a vase.

I set the “vased” rose on my windowsill behind my desk, where it would receive the most natural light; however, it was a very gloomy day out, and I wondered if my poor, sweet little rose would ever look as beautiful or as perky as it originally did.

By halfway through the day, the leaves were less droopy. The flower’s head was no longer drooped, but cocked at a right degree angle. It looked odd, but it was perking up. (as those who are following my Instagram can attest. LOL)

By the end of the day, I was astounded. The leaves were all perked up completed, as if they’d never wilted, and the rose head was almost completely straight.

Just a little miracle… all thanks to water and natural light.

All this made me think of my own spiritual walk with God, and how spiritually dry, spiritually depleted I’d felt lately. And then I realized part of my problem.

If you deplete a flower of water, of nutrients, naturally, it’s going to to wilt and eventually die off. It’s the same with faith; you need to feed it Spiritual Water (i.e., God’s Word, spending time with Him) to help nourish your faith… because without it, it’ll wilt. I noticed the less time I spent with God and His Word, the more my faith suffered. The more unhealthy doubts started to creep in.

That’s where the sunlight, the natural light, comes in.

See, even though it was a very gloomy, very dreary, VERY rainy day out, the sun’s natural light still shown through the gray clouds, regenerating the flower. The flower head literally lifted itself up to gaze upon the sun, its benefactor.  Now THAT’S something.

That makes me think of life in general. Sometimes, it seems so gloomy, so despairing, so depressing and stressful, that it seems like God’s not even there. But He is. He and his literal SON are shining brightly through the gray, clouded skies, ready, willing and able to help you lift up your faith and take it to newer, better heights. All we need to do is look upwards.

So learn from the rose. Lift your head up to the skies. And let God nourish and replenish your faith.

“I will lift up my eyes to the hills– From whence comes my help? My help comes from the LORD, Who made heaven and earth.” Psalm 121:1-2, NKJV

“Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.” Hebrews 11:1, NIV

 

Leave a Reply

