Don’t you love it when everything in life runs smoother than a nut? When you’re feeling accomplished, on top of your game, have everything in your life just about sorted out, and are ready to finally to kick back and relax from all the stress life can also offer?

Well, what about the times you’re down on yourself– so much that some days you want to scream and cry in frustration, throw in the towel? The days you might even feel like a, well, failure?

Lately, I’ve been right at the latter. I felt like a failure in so many areas: academically (I missed passing my Math placement test by only 2 points, both times; I fell short of an “A” in my old ENG 102 class because of an online mistake that put my grade off an A by literally .6%; the amount of credits I had to register as a Junior in college were 3 short to actually consider me a legit Junior, etc.), socially (confession time: I’m an Aspie. And while I’ve had TONS of social and physical therapy as a kid, I’m still pretty socially awkward at times, and am down on myself about that. A lot.), and even genetically (I’ve always wanted to help others by donating my blood, my blood type being the universal donor type, but tragically I was born with a serious cortisol deficiency, which means essentially I need to be on meds, no matter what. Cruel irony.). I just exploded in tears the other evening when realizing I’d have to take more credits the next several years to help compensate some for my lack of academic awareness I displayed during my ditzy Freshman year at community college. But through it all, I sensed something. A little sermon the Spirit of God had subtly slipped inside my life, once again:

Failure does NOT make you a failure.

It happens to make you human. We ALL fall short sometimes. We ALL have those extreme off days where you just wanna face-desk yourself repeatedly until your skull cracks open like a coconut or something. We are not defined by our deeds; only the world judges like that. God judges by our hearts, by our faith. By who we are in Jesus Christ.

God did not create you to let you show off how great you are to the world. No, just the opposite.

He created you to show His glory, grace, love, and majesty THROUGH YOU, and, if you ask me, that’s probably the coolest assignment I’ve ever heard. Think about it– God, the Supreme Creator, Ultimate Authority, Author of the Universe considers YOU both worth of dying for AND worthy of being His Image-Bearer (His Representative, in a sense 🙂 ) on this feeble little dustball that isn’t even our official home. As my one good friend would say…. not gonna lie, that’s REMARKABLE.

So you see, a few trip-ups now and then do NOT define you. Not if it’s sin, not if it’s just a general slip-up. You let God do the defining. All He asks in return is that you give your all for Him.

“… for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, being justified freely by His grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus…” Romans 3:23-24, NKJV

“He is the image of the invisible God, the first-born over all creation.” Col. 1:15, NKJV

 

Leave a Reply

